Koen Vanmechelen (né à Saint-Trond en 1965)
Mechelse Bresse (He KV) x Mechelse Bresse (He KV)
2002

Matériaux composites, 61 x 41 x 40 cm
Inv. 2012.6.1

© Jacques Quecq d’Henripret

Major works | Moderation versus Excess

Genetics and art

For about twenty years, the internationally renowned artist Kœn Vanmechelen has developed an innovative project that lies at the nexus between art and science: the Cosmopolitan Chicken Project (CCP). He crosses chickens from various countries with the aim of creating a truly cosmopolitan breed. To date, fifteen generations of chickens have been born of that process, which started with a Mechelen hen and a Bresse cockerel. The project has been conducted in conjunction with biologists and geneticists from the University of Hasselt, and it falls within a scientific framework.

Over and above the ethical questions raised by genetic manipulation, Kœn Vanmechelen’s works form a political and philosophical act that positions diversity and multiculturalism as universal, fundamental values.

The sculpture plays on the intertwining of two antagonistic images, the skeleton and the taxidermisation of the chicken, which clearly render the idea of genetic crossing. From that emerges the idea of a new entity that stands out due to its hybrid character.

The work, of which the visual aspect would tend to a reductionist meaning, is, on the contrary, one that contains a profound metaphysical sense, as is often the case with contemporary Flemish artists.

 

DnnSpot

   Minimize

Koen Vanmechelen (né à Saint-Trond en 1965)
Mechelse Bresse (He KV) x Mechelse Bresse (He KV)
2002

Matériaux composites, 61 x 41 x 40 cm
Inv. 2012.6.1

© Jacques Quecq d’Henripret

Les incontournables | Mesure et démesure

La génétique et l’art

Depuis une vingtaine d’années, l’artiste de renommée internationale Koen Vanmechelen développe un projet inédit à la jonction entre l’art et la science, le Cosmopolitan Chicken Project (CCP). Il effectue des croisements de gallinacées provenant de différents pays dans l’idée de créer une vraie race cosmopolitaine. À ce jour, quinze générations de poulets sont nées de ce processus qui a débuté avec une poule malinoise et un poulet de Bresse. Menée de concert avec les biologistes et les généticiens de l’Université d’Hasselt, cette démarche s’inscrit dans un cadre scientifique.

Au-delà des questions éthiques soulevées par les manipulations génétiques, les œuvres de Koen Vanmechelen sont un acte politique et philosophique qui positionne la diversité et la multi-culturalité comme des valeurs universelles et fondamentales.

La sculpture joue sur l’imbrication de deux images antagonistes, le squelette et l’empaillement de la poule, qui traduisent ainsi clairement l’idée de croisement génétique. De là naît une nouvelle entité qui se démarque par son caractère hybride.

Cette œuvre dont l’aspect visuel tendrait à une signification réductrice, recèle bien au contraire un sens profond métaphysique, comme souvent chez les artistes contemporains flamands.

 

DnnSpot

   Réduire