Léo Copers (born in Ghent in 1947)
Geen gezeik iedereen rijk! II

2004
Mixed materials (lacquered resin)
50 x 50 x 50 cm

Inv. 2007.2.1

Acquisition 2007
With a contribution from the Museums Regional Acquisition Fund
© ADAGP, Paris, 2012

Major works | Parody on Parade

All that glitters is not gold…

Léo Copers is a Flemish artist who has felt drawn by the tensions arising from interactions – and even contradictions – between objects, materials, and elements ever since the beginning of his career. The installations and ephemeral performances can appear deceptively simple: water catches fire, a neon light floats in a swimming pool.

Geen gezeik iedereen rijk ! II, is a stack of gold bars piled one on top of the other in an organised, unequivocal manner. They symbolise the wealth and lust of Man and seem so real that visitors may feel tempted by the bar placed on the ground within reach. But this is impossible for the whole structure is bound together. By this act, the artist is showing that Man is so dazzled by Earthly goods that he forgets what is truly of value in life. The artist makes fun of human nature, for the bars aren’t real – they are made from lacquered resin. To crown it all off with irony, this work was displayed in a bank directly on the floor. The illusion was perfect.

A first draft of this work belongs to the Ghent S.M.A.K collections. Geen gezeik iedereen rijk ! I is a perfect cube, while the second installation ramps up the temptation and ostentation since the bars placed on the stack and on the floor seem entirely free, unattached and there for the taking.

 

DnnSpot

   Minimize

Léo Copers (né à Gand en 1947)
Geen gezeik iedereen rijk! II

2004
Matériaux mixtes (résine laquée)
50 x 50 x 50 cm

Inv. 2007.2.1

Acquisition 2007
Avec le concours du Fonds Régional d’Acquisition des Musées
© ADAGP, Paris, 2012

Les incontournables | Ostentation et Dérision

Tout ce qui brille n’est pas or…

Léo Copers est un artiste flamand qui dès le début de sa carrière se sent attiré par les tensions émanant d’interactions voire de contradictions entre des objets, des matières, des éléments. Les installations, les performances éphémères peuvent paraître étrangement simples : de l’eau prend feu, un néon flotte dans une piscine.

Geen gezeik iedereen rijk ! II, est une accumulation de lingots d’or empilés les uns sur les autres de manière organisée, sans équivoque. Ils symbolisent la richesse et la convoitise de l’Homme. Ils semblent tellement vrais que le visiteur pourrait se laisser tenter par le lingot posé à terre à portée de main. Impossible, toute la structure est solidaire. Par cet acte, l’artiste montre que l’Homme est aveuglé par les biens terrestres oubliant les vraies richesses de la vie. L’artiste se moque de la nature humaine. Car les lingots sont faux, constitués de résine laquée. Comble de l’ironie, cette œuvre a été présentée dans une banque à même le sol. L’illusion était parfaite.

Il existe une première version de cette œuvre qui appartient aux collections du S.M.A.K de Gand.
Geen gezeik iedereen rijk ! I
est un cube parfait tandis que la deuxième installation accentue la tentation et l’ostentation car les lingots posés sur la structure et sur le sol  paraissent libres, détachés, prêts à être emportés. 

DnnSpot

   Réduire